Wednesday, 21 March 2007

The role of Deanery Synod Representatives

From the flyer accompanying the nomination forms for this year's elections:

The Deanery Synod is a tier of church synodical government, regulated by national rules. Every parish belongs to a Deanery (the Parish of Oadby belongs to Gartree 2 Deanery and sends five elected representatives to the Deanery Synod, in addition to the clergy).

Deaneries are consulted by the Diocese of Leicester on matters of policy and the most significant discussions in the year 2006/7 related to the formation of new Mission Partnerships. With the advent of Mission Partnerships, it is unclear how much business and responsibility will remain with the Deanery Synod. It is also likely that the size of the Deanery and the scope of its responsibilities will be redefined at some time in the coming years.

Deanery Synod Representatives should be informed about the life of the parish, the opportunities for mission that exist in and beyond Oadby, Wigston and the surrounding villages. They should also appreciate and contribute to the issues that affect the mission of the Church of England in Leicester Diocese and beyond.

Deanery Synod Representatives are elected for three-year terms at the Annual Parochial Church Meeting. There is one vacancy in the parish for a Deanery Synod Representative at present.